Maiden name vs Married Name

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maiden name vs Married Name

I got married a few weeks ago. I have been searching on the web and I could not find a clear answer. I would like to hyphen my name (First name, Maiden-husbandslastname) in the legal documents( IRS, payroll drivers license, bank accounts, insurance,ect). Is it possible to keep my maiden name for Medical boards, Medical licenses, DEA, FCVS, Medical diploma (I'm a foreign grad)?

I hope this question is not too tangential to this forum.  It is still a "Women's Issues". Identitity is the 101 necessity in order to have a bank account. I just realized this after I got married.

Thank you

whatever you choose for your legal names goes on all your medical papers i think.

Comment

I got married a few weeks ago. I have been searching on the web and I could not find a clear answer. I would like to hyphen my name (First name, Maiden-husbandslastname) in the legal documents( IRS, payroll drivers license, bank accounts, insurance,ect). Is it possible to keep my maiden name for Medical boards, Medical licenses, DEA, FCVS, Medical diploma (I’m a foreign grad)?

I hope this question is not too tangential to this forum.  It is still a “Women’s Issues”. Identitity is the 101 necessity in order to have a bank account. I just realized this after I got married.

Thank you

As a foreign grad, getting licenses in other states ( even with FCVS) is a daunting and time consuming process. Especially states like CA and FL. I have found that if all your documents match the name exactly to your original medical school diploma, the licensing boards are generally happy and it removes one stumbling block.

How much the married name, hyphened name versus professional maiden name means to you is something for you to decide. But many licensing boards have become a pain in the rear for IMG and the less chances you give them to delay or deny licenses, the better.

Comment