sick time as employed doc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sick time as employed doc

Wanted to get some other opinions from fellow docs regarding the use of sick time.

I am a hospital employed physician who accrues sick time (around 1 day per month worked).  We can accrue a maximum of 22 days of sick leave.  As a surgeon, I really never use sick days.  Whenever I am sick, I usually work through it (if I can safely etc.) as I always feel bad about cancelling surgeries for my patients.  I also have one day off every 2 weeks.

Some of my colleagues often take sick days for routine doctors appointments, dental appointments and have suggested that I do the same.  I feel that I could often schedule these routine appointments on my days off.  Any other opinions on using sick time for non urgent appointments when you have a 'use it or lose it' sick time policy?

I would certainly use it for dental appointments and elective doctor appointments. It need not be an emergency to be appropriate.  In any case, it sounds like the culture considers that to be appropriate.  There's no reason for you not to take advantage of that benefit as well.

Also, be sure to  accrue the maximum.  You may need it for a severe illness or for elective or emergent surgery.  22 days of sick leave is one month off.  You could burn through that very quickly

Comment

Giving a physician a day of "sick time" per month is silly. It's not like we can decide last minute not to show up unless there is a true emergency. We have a full slate of appointments or surgeries that have been on the books for weeks or months.

If you can negotiate those sick days to become vacation days, even if you only get half as many, it would be worthwhile. In ten years of practice, I've taken exactly zero sick days, but I've never had a contract that encouraged it.

Best,

-PoF

Comment