No announcement yet.

Hign income MD; spouse return to work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hign income MD; spouse return to work?

I'm a physician in a highly compensated sub specialty and my wife stays home with our two young children (3yr and 9mo).  With my income alone, my AGI is right about at the line where every extra penny we make is taxed at the full marginal rate of 39.6%.  My wife likely wont make more than 40k if she returns to work as a social worker.  My concern is that on a post-tax basis, it would amount to only about 25k--most if not all of which would then go to child care expenses.  So its almost that her going back to work would bring more headaches for her and our family without any financial rewards (I know its not all about financial rewards, obviously her professional satisfaction would be greatly improved)

Anyone else navigate this problem before and how?

While not in the exact same situation myself, I just can't see a scenario where it would make sense for her to go back to work.  The take-home pay after taxes and childcare would eat up so much of it that the benefits of working full-time to not be home with the kids doesn't seem worth it.  Maybe if she maxes out her 401k and she gets a good company match and other benefits.  Otherwise, I imagine both of you would be happier if she stayed at home.

Comment

It sounds like you've already answered the question, and correctly in my estimation.

There are many benefits to your wife being at home with the kids.  For her, for the kids, and for you.  Unless she has a burning desire to go back to social work, and is willing to make the sacrifices, it makes a lot of sense for her to be home.  As you mention, the financial benefit of her working is nil.  The intangible benefits of her being home are huge.

Comment

I assume the only reason this is coming up is that your wife actually wants to return to work?

Comment