Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking of doing a second residency in OB - am I crazy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of doing a second residency in OB - am I crazy?

Sorry in advance for the long post...

I am a family physician in New York, 3.5 years out of residency. I started doing a hybrid of private practice and academics, but moved to 100% academic after my first year because I enjoyed it so much more.  Since medical school, I really considered doing an OB residency but was scared off for many reasons. I'm now thinking of going back and applying for one, which seems crazy on so many levels.  Here are my hesitations:

1. Opportunity cost from loss of income. I realize this is essentially a $500k decision because of how much income I will be giving up.  We are fortunate to live very frugally in a LCOL area. In my short time since graduating, we have eliminated all debt (except a $240k mortgage) and have saved up $600k in retirement assets (including a fully paid rental property that nets $1k/month of cash flow), so I feel as if we are doing very well from that perspective.

2. Work/life balance of OB. This was a big reason why I didn't do OB in the first place; now in academics, I frequently work 70 hour weeks including overnights for deliveries, and I enjoy it more than churning out 40 hours per week in the office, which I found brutal.

3. Loss of schedule autonomy.  It's really nice to be able to get a day or week off whenever it's needed without too much hassle.

4. Family.  My wife actually suggested that I go back to residency, because she could see how much I enjoy OB. I think she would be fine with it. However, we are 32/30 years old, and are thinking that we may want to start a family soon. I don't want to leave everything on her.