Dash Cam for car?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dash Cam for car?

Hey everyone... just wanted to solicit some thoughts/advice about whether to get a dash cam for my car.  I am a decent driver, only been in one fender-bender in 20+ years, but recent ride with an ultra-paranoid Uber driver had me thinking.  I live in a generally low-key, low crime area, but opioids are pretty big here, and there's been some stories of people stepping out in front of nicer cars to get a payout.  At the same time, I generally trust people, don't want to be putting myself on the spot and I have some concerns about recording everything/privacy issues.  Anyway, just wanted to take a brief informal poll to see if anyone else has had similar thoughts, already has a dash cam or is thinking about getting one.  Is dash cam video discoverable in court, or private property as long as you don't hand over the whole tape to the police?

I have one. Not sure if it could be used in court if needed. I recommend getting one that has a small profile and which you can set and forget. Most turns on with ignition, and rewrites old footages when the card is full. Should be a less than $100 investment. You can also use the footages if you are an aspiring youtuber lol.

Comment

High income friend of mine has one.

It's not crazy, low cost investment to protect against high dollar personal loss.

I don't see it as much different than an alarm system for the house.

My question with these is that if you are at fault I would imagine that failure to disclose footage or deleting footage would be viewed as obstruction of justice. Seems like it could cut both ways. But for a cautious driver it would probably be a net positive.

Parks and Rec anyone?

Tom: "Jean Ralphio made his money the old fashion way."

Jean Ralphio (sings): "I got hit by a Lexxxxusssss"

Comment