Subpoena to court for expert witness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Subpoena to court for expert witness

I have been recently called to a courthouse (more than 1 hour drive from my practice) to testify as an expert witness.  Without going into too much detail, an officer was punched and came to my office for treatment.  I am now being summoned to provide testimony.  My question is, shouldn't I be compensated as an expert witness, as I have to drive 3 hours round trip and leave my practice for a day?  Or is this civic duty as it is the state as the prosecution?  Just wanted to see if anyone has experience.

That's an interesting question, for sure.  No experience here, but I was curious enough to do some searching and found this article:

http://medicaleconomics.modernmedicine.com/medical-economics/news/clinical/personal-finance/you-just-received-subpoena-now-what

I'm not a lawyer (or doctor), but this seems to be the pertinent section of that article:
    If you're deposed as a treating physician—not as a defendant—you're entitled to payment for your time—generally by the attorney taking your testimony. In most jurisdictions, you'll receive a nominal appearance fee, your travel expenses, and possibly an amount equal to the value of your lost practice time. When you're deposed as an expert in the case, you can charge an expert witness fee. Depending on your location and specialty, those fees can range from $200 to $600 an hour, or a fixed amount for a half or full day. Once you agree to testify as an expert, however, you must show up. If you don't, you've breached your contract.