Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nanny Costs?

Hi,
    we are planning on getting a full time nanny in a few months when our baby is ~3 months old. We are expecting soon!

we would like to pay the nanny with a W2. No under the table pay.
    do any of y’all pay through your PLLC? My wife (physician) is an independent contractor, and someone suggested that we can hire and pay the nanny through her PLLC.

I’m a W2 physician, but I have a side gig that generates 1099, so I won’t be able to pay nanny through anything.

any thoughts on using wife’s PLLC? She is a single employee of her S-corp.

No

Comment

https://www.gettaxhub.com/can-i-dedu...my-tax-return/
      Might want to consider how it is reported and deductible. Seems much cleaner if you keep it as a personal expense.

Comment

A nanny as a business expense??

Comment

Care.com

Comment

We did not pay our nanny through the company, but our accountant suggested that we do that and then declare the income.

Our accountant is an above board, by the book, always legal kind of guy, so paying through the business and then declaring the income is likely considered acceptable by the IRS.

Comment

can't really imagine this is going to save you much money while it sounds like it's going to add a decent amount of complexity.

i know i'm not an accountant or a financial planner but a fairly solid rule of thumb i apply is the following:
              a) am i running an actual company? if no go to B
              b) am i trying to do some kind of complex accounting that involves LLCs, PLLCs, s corps, etc so as to pretend like I am an actual company despite have no office, no employees, and no business aside from my medical practice? if yes go to C
              c) don't do that

i'm sure there are exceptions, but i would start at (c) and try to find them

Comment

the most obvious problem that comes to mind with this is your wife is going to have to put aside 7.65% of her pay for FICA.