UTMA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UTMA

There an interesting thread on UTMAs (Uniform Transfers to Minors Act) in the "Personal Finance and Budgeting" forum. I suspect this WCI forum community has widely different opinions on these. I'd be interested to hear some of the pros/cons of these from both a financial perspective as well as a behavioral one. 18 years seems quite young to suddenly have access to a 6 figure balance.

This may have been discussed before on the blog or elsewhere, but this hasn't really been on my radar.

I am the author of said thread. My rationale for building a UTMA is the flexibility and the tax-deferred treatment. I understood all along that I technically would lose control of the money after my children turned 18, but I also grew up with one (my balance was about $85k when I graduated high school in the early 1980's), intended to pay for my college and med school, and it never occurred to me to raid it for nefarious purposes (or otherwise).

More practically, I did not have the wherewithal to access the assets had I wanted to do so, and I believe that my son is in the same boat. That said, he would be foolish to try to do so, and using the money for unapproved purposes would cut him off from larger sums of the money down the line.

Comment

We are considering using the UTMA for the same purpose as TheWhiteCoatInvestor, as a way to help our kids in their college/early life transition years.  Rather than "fund" a wedding, move, car, downpayment etc, this modest gift would let the kids make decisions on how they want to use their nest egg.  Undergraduate should largely be taken care of via 529's.  Though I sincerely hope I am wrong, but I can't plan on our own kids as having quite the same financial stability that we have enjoyed. I hope for this to be the right type of help (financial) at the right time.