Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to pick a medical specialty - finances vs interest vs lifestyle

Hi everyone,

I'm a med student currently in a research year (after MS3) trying to decide what the heck to do with my life specialty-wise. I have competitive grades, board scores, and research so I think I can swing most any specialty, but no particular specialty has stuck out for me despite rotating in pretty much every field at some point or another. Not afraid to work hard but I do have a family so lifestyle factors in somewhat too.

Looking back, how would you rate the importance of salary, interest, and lifestyle for someone who literally hasn't found a field they are passionate about? For instance, I think I would like ortho, they make a bazillion dollars so I could save/give more, but I don't love it and it's a tough life with a lot of call. Another example - I think radiology is interesting, could have a good lifestyle depending on the job, but I'm worried about working in a dark room long-term (yes I have rotated in these specialties). I have ruled out many specialties including anesthesia, FM, IM, psych, OB, derm, ophtho, path, rad onc.... but can't get much further than that. Peds, EM, ENT, rads or IR, ortho, urology I think I could do but, again, I don't wake up beaming going into any of these rotations. Some people choose work hours over all else, others say interest is all that matters even if you work stupid hours, others say pick a high salary. Ugh.

I'm rambling at this point. I hope my question makes sense, thanks.

Interest > lifestyle > salary IMO

It took all that effort to get into medical school and assuming you apply for something competitive, it will take a ton of time and money to get into the residency of your choice. Why not try and make it something you are interested in?