S-Corp vs SMLLC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• S-Corp vs SMLLC

As a graduating resident I am working on getting all my ducks in a row for post residency life. I previously posted a post residency planning plan/guide with the help of others input https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forums/topic/post-residenct-planning/.

My question now is someone had mentioned a SMLLC vs S-Corp; which do I want and what exactly are the benefits I would expect to see by establishing one or the other vs none at all. Income wise I expect to have a 350-400k IC 1099 job as my sole source of income.

And now that we have picked either of these as the preferred option can anyone provide a step by step guide as how best to set this up and if I am moving in 2 months should I wait to establish once at my new state of residence (where my attending job will be paying me).

Thanks Again

Probably a SMPLLC (the P is for Professional), unless you are moving to CA, in which case that is not an option.

With all due respect, this is not a DIY process. You need to be working with a professional (best bet is a CPA) who has a lot of experience in this area (including multi-state taxation). There is a lot more than a step-by-step list to check off and it takes quite a bit of discussion to ensure you are making the best choices for your particular situation and that you are structured to optimize your tax situation.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment