Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resident Taxes Question: Student Loan Interest Credit

Hi everyone,
    I'm a PGY3 resident and have been following WCI for sometime. I think the site is great and it has pushed me to be smarter about my finances. Despite doing my best to stay on top of them I'm worried I made a big mistake last year...

I moonlighted quite a bit in 2015 allowing me to contribute close to $15k towards my 403b and Roth.  I was diligent to about keeping my total income below $80k and stopped moonlighting when my gross income hit ~$77k.  Unfortunately I did not count on/factor in two things:
    1) $875 State/Local refund from the 2014 tax year which I received in 2015
    2) $2706 in realized stock gains in 2015
    - In case it matters, this was from selling a stock I held for 2.5 years

I refinanced my student loans with LinkCapital last year and in doing so payed off $36,000 in student loan interest.  Now that my gross income is over $80k I can not claim this deduction.  I've also heard that this extra $700 in income will cost me other deductions as well.  Is there a way to manipulate my income to get me below $80k?  Can I defer income to next year some how?  Can I change my 2014 taxes retroactively to report the deduction for that year?
    In case it creates an opportunity, I also own my own condo.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Have you run this through your tax software or just doing back-of-the-envelope math?

• Your student loan interest deduction started phasing out at $65k, so you're going to lose at least part of it.

• Did you itemize in 2014? Some or part of the state/local refund may not be taxed, depending upon your itemized numbers. I suppose you could go back and claim the standard deduction but, since you own your own home, the tax hit probably won't be worth it.

• Do you have an HSA and have you maxed it out?

Without actually seeing the numbers and the interaction, it's hard to be very precise with my advice.