Is this taxable income?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this taxable income?

I have been receiving a monthly stipend since signing for a job mid 2017 to start after residency this coming summer. I have not received any tax documents for this income and no taxes have been withheld from the stipend checks.

Is this taxable income? Should I be expecting a W2? How do I report this income on my taxes?

There are different kinds of stipends - what is the purpose of yours? You won’t receive a W2 but that doesn’t mean it is not taxable. If you could provide additional information, I should be able to help.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Thank you. The contract refers to it as a "commencement stipend as an incentive to commence services on the commencement date and as an incentive to minimum two years employment commitment". It's a set amount paid out monthly until start of my employment. If I leave before two years I have to repay a prorated amount. Does that help?

Comment

Would also be curious for answers. Looking at a few similar offers. One told me they pay the stipend as 1099so presumably taxed like any other 1099 work?

Comment

Not sure if it helps, but my stipend was paid during residency and not taxed. When i started the job the money was forgiven at X rate over X paychecks. That amount showed up on each pay stub and was taxed at my now higher rate. The stipend is nice because you get some extra money during residency, but tax wise you lose out because when it is forgiven you pay a higher tax rate.

Comment

In my experience: if you have to ask, then the answer is yes, the income is taxable.

Comment