Coverdell rollover after 30??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coverdell rollover after 30??

I just discovered that my parents had a Coverdell ESA through E-Trade with me as the beneficiary. I am an EM physician in the top marginal tax bracket. My understanding is that rules change when the beneficiary turns 30. I am now 32 and wondering what to do with the balance of this account. I have a 529 plan in my son's name who is only a few months old. My understanding is that the account should have been withdrawn when I turned 30. And at that time a 10% penalty on earnings would have been excised.  Well, now what?  I am wondering if the account is withdrawn, what will the taxes and fees incurred be. My thought is that there will be a 10% penalty plus 20% capital gains on earnings. Also I am hoping there is a way to use 529 plans to avoid penalties and taxes.  Could I perhaps change my son to the beneficiary and rollover to his 529 plan?  Or, if E-trade does not allow changing the beneficiary, could I create a 529 plan in my own name and rollover the funds to that 529. Afterwards, I could change the beneficiary of my new 529 to my son. Any help is appreciated. There is just 2800 in the account. The basis is approximately 2000. 

You cannot roll a Coverdell ESA over to a 529 account; they are 2 different animals and cannot breed. Fortunately, this is a small amount. All I know for you to do is to empty the account and pay the tax and penalty. I’m sorry I can’t be of more help.

Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Thanks for the reply. And I agree, I am happy that amount is small. So if withdrawn, will the penalty only be on 800$?

As far as doing a rollover, this is what I found on savingforcollege.com. So my thought was changing the beneficiary prior to a rollover might allow avoidance of penalty and taxes.

"Can we move the funds from my child’s ESA into a 529 plan?