Help with Solo 401K tax issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Solo 401K tax issue

I am currently a W-2 physician wage earner and will have side hustle 1099 income of about $30K in 2017. I opened up a solo 401K this year and in January, I contributed $10K to the plan as an EMPLOYER contribution. I fully expected I would be able to earn more 1099 income in 2017, but the side hustle went awry and I’m only going to get about $30K. My $10K contribution has increased in value by about 20% since the start of the year. I have a Profit Sharing Plan with my W-2 job as a practice partner and am planning maxing out 2017 contributions ($18K employee contributions and $36K of Profit Sharing contributions) to the plan by the end of the year (I made partner a few months ago and should get to $270K in eligible income by the end of the year to make this happen). I brought this issue up with my accountant and he said we could declare my side hustle income on W-2 this year of $40K (which I have been paying payroll taxes on) to allow for the $10K of EMPLOYER contributions to the Solo-401K. We’d also declare about $10K of business losses to account for the discrepancy. Does this seem right? Do I need to go back and declare the original EMPLOYER contributions as EMPLOYEE contributions? I think I still have time because I’ve yet to contribute to the Profit Sharing plan this year.

Is your accountant a CPA? I believe that is called filing a fraudulent income tax return. Or you are making an overcontribution to a 401k and purposely not correcting the error even though you are aware of it, which could be found out years later. I bet if your accountant knew that you were going to repeat his suggestion on a public forum, he might have thought twice about giving you that "tip". Or maybe not - I've seen a lot in 38 years...