Travel for business but also for personal reasons

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Travel for business but also for personal reasons

If I travel from my home to another state (in the U.S. - via air) and stay in a relative home for 2 weeks, during which I visit my relatives, but also work 4 days as independent contractor at a local facility, can I deduct the full airfare+airport transport to my relative home-given that I do IC work for 4 days- as a business expense or should all this be somehow be prorated?

I would claim the whole enchilada; to be safe, it would probably be best if those days are spread out.

Danut15, based on the string of posts that you have started, I must ask:  Are you an IRS auditor trying to round up cases?

Comment

I wish :-).
      I am a physician who has been doing lots of IC work over past few years and started doing my own taxes in the end, once I learnt most of the lingo. With some recent changes in my ventures, new questions came out and prefer sorting them ahead of the tax season.

Comment

You should be able to deduct your travel expenses...you still needed to travel in order to do the work.

You can'd deduct something you didn't spend, though, so don't try to deduct lodging expenses when you crashed for free.

Comment

Can you deduct travel expenses if your hospital paid for the trip?  IE later reimbursed you.  I suspect not....

Comment

Can you deduct travel expenses if your hospital paid for the trip?  IE later reimbursed you.  I suspect not….

If reimbursed you cannot deduct the expenses. However, the reimbursement should not be taxed.

Comment