Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Costs + Value of a tax advisor/CPA?

Hi all,

I am a W2 physician with significant 1099 side income. I've always done my own taxes via turbotax without issue. I also consider myself to be moderately sophisticated on tax prep, tax minimization, investing, financial planning etc. when compared to a typical physician, albeit certainly NOT advanced by this forum's high standard.

This year, I would like to form an S-corp. I'd like to have a professional perform the incorporation, backdate it to 1/1/2022 for the 1099 income, and help maximize QBI and state specific SALT deduction cap work arounds. I'd also need help getting things set up for payroll (S-corp salary + distributions), and to file the annual business tax returns.

I reached out to Cerebral Tax Advisors, an affiliate of WCI, and I get the general gist that it will cost me $10-30k to set up the "tax strategy", plus another 5-10K+/year to run it through them.

They have been vague so far, saying they will show me the ROI based on what I will "save" compared to doing taxes myself. However, as I already know most of the tax minimization strategies here (S-corp, QBI, etc), I feel like I am paying a ton for very little value add.

I just need a professional to execute this plan and make corrections where they see fit/advise. I already have done a lot of the initial leg work, and have 80-90% of the plan self-built.

Any good recommendations for a CPA and/or tax attorney who can help me to implement, without charging through the roof?

Or are these unrealistic expectations, and I'm in for 10k+ just to start no matter what....?

Thanks!