MI 529 misaves or Vanguard?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MI 529 misaves or Vanguard?

Quick question that I can't find the answer to.

I'm a Michigan resident. I registered my daughter for a 529 account at misaves.com

In order to get the state tax deduction, I have to use the MESP or other Michigan-specific plans right? I assumed the Vanguard (and I think Fidelity?) options were if I lived in a state that didn't have a 529 benefit.

I believe that is correct.

It also helps that Michigan has one of the best state 529 plans.

Comment

Originally posted by LazerBeams View Post

In order to get the state tax deduction, I have to use the MESP or other Michigan-specific plans right?
      Yes. State deduction up to $10k/year.

Comment

Thanks for confirming. I thought that was the case, but family keep casting doubts. This'll be my first year with a 529 so haven't had the opportunity to use the deduction yet.

I guess, if I were to use Vanguard/Fidelity, everything would still grow tax free/come out tax free for education I'd just miss the $425 contribution deduction each year

Comment

Quick question that I can't find the answer to.

I'm a Michigan resident. I registered my daughter for a 529 account at misaves.com

In order to get the state tax deduction, I have to use the MESP or other Michigan-specific plans right? I assumed the Vanguard (and I think Fidelity?) options were if I lived in a state that didn't have a 529 benefit.
          VG options will work for states that allow you to take the state tax deduction no matter where the 529 plan resides.

Comment

Thanks for confirming. I thought that was the case, but family keep casting doubts. This'll be my first year with a 529 so haven't had the opportunity to use the deduction yet.

I guess, if I were to use Vanguard/Fidelity, everything would still grow tax free/come out tax free for education I'd just miss the $425 contribution deduction each year