Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Incorporating in Nevada to avoid franchise tax?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incorporating in Nevada to avoid franchise tax?

I know that state income tax is based on where I live and where I work. I'm a locums physician, I don't have an office. I live in a state with high franchise (corporate minimum tax) and payroll tax (unemployment, disability, family leave). I've worked in two other states this year. I'm currently incorporated in my home state. But since I don't have a office here nor have I done any work in this state, would it make sense for me to incorporate in Nevada? If so, what costs will I save, if any? Franchise tax?

And what about unemployment/disability, are they based on where I live, where I work, or where I am incorporated?

I believe that payroll taxes are based on where I work, right?

So I think the only benefit of Nevada would be avoiding the home franchise tax where I live?

One more question-

If you are a locums LLC/scorp, do you have to issue a W-2 to yourself for EACH state that you work in? If I did a two week stint in Kentucky, I would need to run payroll as a Kentucky employee, right? In order to do that, I would also have to register my business in the state of KY, per Gusto payroll service.

This doesn't seem right to me, because as a locums doc, I'm sure there are those who work in like 5-10 or more states, and if you are an LLC/Scorp, that means you have to register and file annual reports, pay fees as a business in all of those states.

Or do you just run payroll through the home state of the business?

Thanks

Comment