Schedule 1 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schedule 1 question

Tax newbie here. My wife and I have had pretty simple tax returns (both W-2 employees) up until this year so I decided to try and fill out our 2020 taxes by hand to better understand our current situation. A brief background, we are married filing jointly (MFJ) with one dependent. We both received W-2 income in calendar year 2020 (though my wife only worked in January of 2020 before quitting to stay at home). We will both have 1099 income as well. I cashed out a whole life insurance policy (taken out by my grandparents and handed over to me, ~7k) and prize money from a medical competition (~$400). My wife started a working as a sole proprietor doing photography during the last quarter of 2020 and made ~6500 gross and ~5000 net from her new business. So my question is since we are MFJ do I need to fill out a schedule 1 for both of us or just 1 combined schedule 1? Sorry if this is a newbie question, but couldn't find a definitive answer on here or elsewhere. Thanks for your help.

Just one Schedule 1 for your joint return.

And you will each have a separate Schedule C for your 1099 work. Schedule C is per taxpayer but is attached to a joint return.

Now, I think it's silly you're doing your return by hand. I wouldn't try doing a return by hand and I do it for a living. There are lots of inexpensive software options out there.

Comment

Originally posted by DavidGlennCPA View Post

And you will each have a separate Schedule C for your 1099 work. Schedule C is per taxpayer but is attached to a joint return.

Now, I think it's silly you're doing your return by hand. I wouldn't try doing a return by hand and I do it for a living. There are lots of inexpensive software options out there.