Military medicine tax question- declaring state for state income tax

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military medicine tax question- declaring state for state income tax

I am a professional student (think medical, dental, pharmacy, optometry, etc) doing HPSP so I am a commissioned officer that receives taxable income (as a stipend). I am originally from one state (aka my parents' house) and currently live in a different state for school, both of which have state income tax. My brother lives in a state that does not have state income tax. During basic, I'm pretty sure they said if we have some kind of tie to an income-free state, that we could change our address to it. Am I able to change my permanent address to my brother's residence? I obviously do not want to get in legal tax issues so am looking to better understand the tax landscape. Am I able to reach out to a JAG or some sort of finance department right now even though I'm not AD/part of any command?

I think they mentioned if I 1. have family that lives in a tax-friendly state or 2. Have an "intent" on living there (despite not actually living there ever) then that would be alright. Does that sound right?

DFAS will have your home of record (where you lived on entry into the military) on your tax statements. That being said, your state of residence for tax purposes can be different/changed. However, many states have exemptions for military income so you may not need to switch. Where it gets more advantageous to switch is where your residence listed in DFAS taxes your dividends or whatever and you currently are in a low/no tax state. In that instance you need to speak to HR and submit proof of residence in the new state (often a driver’s license, voter registration, etc.).

Comment

Originally posted by ENT Doc View Post