Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Costs for setting up and maintaining S-corp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Costs for setting up and maintaining S-corp?

I am currently an independent contractor (just me, no other employers) just finishing my first full year out of residency. I am currently a sole proprietor but have started looking into potentially changing my taxing filing status to an S-corp (Pennsylvania). I’ve ready enough on this forum to know that the main benefit is to save on Medicare taxes (will max out SS on physician salary) on the portion that is a distribution. In general, for every 100k in distribution you can save 2-3k in taxes. Many have said that you should have at least 300-400k in 1099 income for it to even be worthwhile. Last year I made around 625k as 1099 income. Expecting similar to slightly increased amounts for 2020.

My question is how much extra does it cost for the extra tax forms, setting up payroll, etc… I’ve read WCI article
    (https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/ll...-as-an-s-corp/) and this gives me an idea of some of the forms and hassle factor, but I didn’t see anything regarding costs. WCI is generally a DIY kind of individual when it comes to his tax preparation. In my case, I currently don’t do my own taxes so I certainly would be outsourcing the effort as things only became more complicated. I know a lot of tax professionals have retainer fees given there is ongoing tax planning in addition to tax preparation so comparing fees to what I am currently getting (just once a year tax form prep since residency) is an apples to oranges comparison.

I’m just trying to evaluate all of the costs involved if I plan on making the switch and essentially want to be relatively/mostly hands off. How much does payroll cost, additional tax form preparation, are the retainer fees (I’ve seen 4-10k/year) worth it, etc…