Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• S corp in California - Worth it?

Hello,

Current medical resident who will be graduating this year. In the course of asking a lawyer to review an employment contract, he brought up that I should form an S corp for the liability protection and tax benefits. Unfortunately, I am a California resident, and from the research I have been doing the tax benefits seem pretty weak. Here is a breakdown of the calculations I have been doing:

Gross income: $400,000
    Medicare tax: $11,600 (2.9%)
    Social security: $14,694 (12.4% of first $118,500)
    Obamacare: $1,350 (0.9% of every dollar after $250,000)

Total: $27,644

Comparing this with an S corp, and assuming I pay myself $200,000 as salary and $200,000 as a distribution:

Medicare: $5,800 (2.9% of $200,000)
    Social security: $14,694 (12.4% of first $118,500)
    Obamacare: $0
    California Franchise Tax Board: $6,000 (1.5% of $400,000, the total income of the S corp)

Total: $26,494

Total savings: $1,150

The real kicker in this situation seems to be the California Franchise Tax Board tax, which takes away $6,000 of the benefit of the S corp and leaves only $1,150 behind. To be honest, I don't think $1,150 is enough savings for the hassle, and will likely pay an accountant and lawyer more to set up and maintain the S corp than benefit I will get.