Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New 1099 Side Gig Advice for a W-2 Physician

Hello friends,

I am writing to see if the wise minds here can assist me in taking some steps for tax reduction in my circumstances.

I am a full-time salaried W-2 physician. I make about 320K. I have a 403b, to which I max out my contributions, and my employer matches those. In addition, I have a 457 which I also max out. I usually do a backdoor roth each year of 5500.

I am starting a side gig which will be paid on 1099, and I expect to make 35-50K through this income.

I'm trying to ascertain what moves I should make here to minimize tax burden. (In addition, my main job is 501c3 and I'm on track for PSLF, so lowering my AGI will also help me lower my loan payments, which is ideal given PSLF plan). After doing my research here and elsewhere it seems that I:

1. Should get an EIN (done). Easy.

2. Should make estimated tax payments (or just increase the withholding on my main job) to avoid penalties? Is this accurate?

3. Should look at a solo401k (not a SEP IRA due to pro rata issues) - which I have some questions about. I believe I have maxed out my "employee" contributions with my mainline job. So if my reading is correct, I can only put 20% of my income (after some kind of self-employment tax) into this account as "employer" contributions, correct?

4. Should deduct various deductions (I have a spare room which I will use as a home office and can deduct, travel, etc).

5. Do I need to pay self-employment tax? What is this and who needs to pay it? anyone on any 1099? I couldn't find a good answer to this.

Anything I have wrong here or doesnt apply? Or anything I've forgotten/missed? Much of the resources (especially for solo401k) applied to 1099 only earners...

Thanks in advance!

Wow, what kind of side gig pays you 50k assuming it's not that time consuming? i.e. how do you have so much free time to make an extra 50k? Are you part-time?

Comment