Loan Consolidation and RePAYE Monthly Payments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loan Consolidation and RePAYE Monthly Payments

I graduated from medical school in May and am now a first year resident working on a plan for my student loans.

Current status of my Federal Loans is as such:

From Undergrad: $2.5k Direct Loans Subsidized at 4.5% Interest Rate; ~$27k Direct Loans Unsubsidized at 6.8% = Total of $29.5k.  I graduated early from college and used the grace period on these loans already, so since June, I have already technically been making "payments" under the RePAYE plan, although since my income was $0 last year and I applied for RePAYE in May 2016 prior to starting residency, my monthly payments are currently $0.

From Med School: ~Four Stafford loans, all unsubsidized, totaling $126k with most interest rates 5.4-5.8%; $2k in Perkins Loans, in Grace Period until March 2017

I can consolidate the Direct Loans and the Perkins Loans into a Direct Consolidation Loan totaling ~157k at 5.875%.

My initial plan was to pay off the Perkins Loan this year before the first payment is due to avoid interest, but upon realizing that consolidation for it is an option, which would make it eligible for PSLF, I'm thinking it may be wiser to save that $2000 for my emergency fund or apply toward a Roth IRA.