24 years old, have 170k in savings, about to begin medical school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 24 years old, have 170k in savings, about to begin medical school

I'm a 24 years old who will be starting medical school soon. I'm fortunate enough to have 170k in savings, but because I'm the resident of a state without any public medical schools it looks as if I will be paying out 280-300k for medical school (which includes cost of living for those 4 years). If you could give me any insights as to how to best manage my current money to minimize my loan repayment time it would be greatly appreciated.

Because I graduated college early and have worked in clinical care/research for the last few years, I feel with reasonable certainty that I will go into one of two related sub-specialties. Of course this is subject to change once I start rotations, but these specialties are not all that competitive and I have >6 years of experience in them, so I feel reasonably certain I will pursue and end up in one of the two. Thus, my plans would be 6-8 years of residency/fellowship, followed by an estimated attending salary of between 200-400k/year. To be conservative, I would like an idea of what a plan would look like based off of something like 7 years of ~50k/yr salary followed by a 200k attending salary.

P.S. I also have a relatively new car (very reliable model) that should be good for at least the next ~6 years. Also, just to be completely clear, I do not currently have any debts of any kind.

Thank you so much for your insights!

Put the money into laddered bank CDs until it almost runs out.  In other words, assuming that you will need 45k each year for tuition and 15k for living expenses,then keep 30 k in cash, and another 30k in a six month bank CD, another 30 k in a 12 month CD, another 30 in an 18 month CD, and so on, until you run out of money.

When you're down to the last 20k, keep it as an emergency fund, and start living on student loans.