Please help! Refinance VS PSLF

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help! Refinance VS PSLF

Hi, I'm new to reading white coat investor and am still learning the basics. I am wondering what peoples thoughts are on my situation. I currently owe 300k at 6.8% interest. I have been in income based repayment in the past. As long as my employer qualifies for the PSLF program, all of my loans qualify for this program. I have made 39 qualifying payments towards the 120 payments if I chose to enter the program.

My question is: Would it be better to enter the PSLF program and pay for about 7 more years (I was told by the representative at Navient that after that the amount forgiven is not taxable income) OR is it better to refinance at a lower rate while living frugally and throwing all our extra income at the debt?

Is there a big risk of the PSLF losing funding and then I would be stuck with more debt which piled up as I payed the minimum IBR payment?

I have been out of residency for 7 months. My wife and I are single income and have worked our debt down to just our house and my student loans.

Any input or suggestions/information is appreciated!

I'd at least take a look at what kind of rates would be offered via refinance before making any final decision. The answer may be different depending on what the providers offer rate-wise.

Comment

These kind of questions just illustrate the strangeness of the system. I understand you're not supposed to refinance if you want the ibr/pslf/repay(e) or whatever. However, this results with current rates that the ultimate price tag for all involved/taxpayers is higher than necessary. Seems strange and the opposite of what all would want, but I guess since they are the creditor/payor they dont really care about the rate as much. Oh well.

Comment