Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loan Management Question -- REPAYE vs refinancing

Hi all,

First of all, I'm sorry in advance for the long(ish) post and I really appreciate your advice!

I'm a first year EM resident and my fiancé is a 4th year medical student also applying to EM. I've managed to graduate with no loans (combination of having some savings from working before medical school plus living frugally during and then about halfway through starting to receive some trust money that I've put entirely toward my education and frugal living so far), but my fiancé will be graduating with about 200k. I don't think that she'll be doing a fellowship or working at a 501c organization after graduation (not that many where I think we'll end up), so I doubt she'll actually be able to go through PSLF. Her loans are all direct stafford loans and mostly have interest rates between 5.4-6.8%; about $8,000 (divided between two) are subsidized while the rest are unsubsidized.

I currently have enough coming through from the trust that I'm living pretty frugally on that while applying almost my entire yearly salary towards retirement accounts (I'm at a UC program so we have a solid 403b, 457b, DCP (7.5% pretax toward pretax in place of SS), and the ability to contribute aftertax to the DCP and then immediately roll over to a Roth IRA plus my standard Roth IRA contribution). I know how very fortunate I am to be able to do that, and I'm trying to take advantage of it rather than squander it away on the Tesla I really want