Student Debt Mgmt Strategy for soon-to-be-married med student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student Debt Mgmt Strategy for soon-to-be-married med student

Hello, this is my first inquiry on the WCI. I am a first-year med student, about to start my second semester. I am getting married this upcoming Saturday. My fiancée (an RN) and I have talked lots about finances throughout our relationship, though we could use some specific advice. She was fortunate to leave school debt-free. She fully supports my desire to become a physician, as I do her desire to advance in her nursing career. 

Here is my current loan balance breakdown: 

• Undergrad:

• Stafford-subsidized ($2,940.26 @ 5.6% interest)

• Stafford-unsubsidized ($2,438.82 @ 6.8% interest)

• Direct loan-subsidized ($3,831.02 @ 4.5% interest)

• Direct loan-subsidized ($4,626.18 @ 3.4% interest)

• Direct loan-subsidized ($4,704.99 @ 3.4% interest)

• Master’s

• Direct Loan-Unsubsidized ($23,190.05 @ 5.84% interest)

• Direct Grad PLUS ($35,807.41 @ 6.84% interest)

• 1<sup>st</sup> Semester Med School

• Direct loan-Unsubsidized ($10,517.72 @ 6% interest)

• Direct Loan-Unsubsidized ($11,401.22 @ 6% interest)

• Direct Grad PLUS ($17,738.55 @ 7% interest)

• Total Loan Balance: $117,196.42

I know it’s ugly, and I wish I could have arrived to where I am now with much less debt. However, I see it as water under the bridge now, and my goal now is to minimize the debt load upon my graduation.

Of note, that total loan balance could increase by the start of this upcoming second semester by ~40K. This is because I accepted ~$80K for the whole first year, and about half of it disbursed for my first semester. I am in a position to prevent the disbursement of the incoming loans if I fill out a form and give it to my financial aid office prior to January 2, 2018.