Paying student loan with practice note

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paying student loan with practice note

Hey everyone. First time poster here. Been following the WCI blog for a while and finally found the forum! I am a first year resident in a dental specialty. One of my co-residents says the above is his plan. He says he will buy a practice with a loan and request extra cash for "practice upgrades", but use the extra money to pay his student loans instead.

According to him, the interest on his practice loan will be tax deductible, while the interest on the student loan is mostly not.

Anyone heard of this? Tried it?

Welcome to the forum.

Other than the honesty issue of lying to the lender, it's a reasonable thing to do. It's a bit like taking out a HELOC and using it to pay off student loans. Essentially you're swapping lower interest rate, deductible, forecloseable debt for higher interest rate non-deductible debt that doesn't go away in bankruptcy.

But the key thing to remember is that refinancing and playing tricks like this doesn't eliminate the debt, it just moves it around. If you want to get rid of debt, you need to throw a bunch of money at it.
    Helping those who wear the white coat get a fair shake on Wall Street since 2011

Comment

Yes that is my plan! Thanks for your response!

Comment

Check the loan documents. This is equivalent to taking the proceeds from a loan to pay yourself a dividend. Typically what you are allowed to do with proceeds from the loan or cash generated by the business will be explicitly stated in the loan contract. You may end up losing the practice and in a lawsuit if you breach the loan contract. Don’t take it lightly. Consult a lawyer.

Comment