Pay off loans vs. IRA cont.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pay off loans vs. IRA cont.

Given the turmoil in the markets recently and with rate hikes on the horizon, it seems like there is due to be a large market correction in the near future.

I worked as a 1099 for the second half of 2021 and have about 50k saved I was planning to contribute to a SEP IRA, but given the outlook for the market right now, anyone think it would be wiser to just take that money as income instead, pay taxes and then use the rest to put towards student loans while they're still at 0%? I currently have a little over 500k of student loan debt (aka Indentured servant)

There already has been a decent correction, 10% ish. If investing long term, that's a good as drop as any IMO

Comment

Sorry, I meant to say crash (50%+), not just correction. If you follow or read Ray Dalio's books on managing debt crises, we are on a frighteningly similar trajectory of the events leading up to the Great Depression in the late 1920's, early 1930's.

Comment

Ray Dalio can suck it

Comment

What's your student loan plan? Refinancing or taxable IDR forgiveness(20-25 yr)?
          Helping student loan borrowers manage their student loans. StudentLoanAdvice.com. [email protected]

Comment

Originally posted by Andrew StudentLoanAdvice View Post
            What's your student loan plan? Refinancing or taxable IDR forgiveness(20-25 yr)?
            So I was in the income based repayment plan before covid hit because I was in residency then and it was all I could afford. I've been enjoying the 0% interest since then and am still in the same plan to utilize that benefit. However, my new job is a 1099 IC and won't qualify for PSLF. I plan to try and continue making large payments before the 0% interest runs out. Hoping that they extend again; if not, then I'll refinance in April for a lower rate since it would jump back up to 6.88%.

Comment

Originally posted by NewRad123 View Post