Refinancing med school federal loans

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinancing med school federal loans

I need some input on my student loan repayment strategy. I currently have about $260K of med school loans (several loans with interest rates ranging from 3.73-6.28% - 4 of the loans are quite large and are about $50K each with interest rates of 5.28%) that are all federal and I am qualified under the REPAYE plan. I also have about $100K in undergrad loans that I am working on paying off first as they are parent plus loans that are high interest (~7.3%). I am unable to refinance them due to my debt:income ratio. I am a 3rd year resident that will be graduating in June, 2022. Thankfully, because of COVID forbearance I have not had to make minimum payments on my med school loans which has freed me up to focus on paying off the high interest undergrad parent plus loans. Payments for the med school loans will start Feb 1, 2022 at $660 per month under REPAYE. My goal is to pay off all of my loans as fast as possible, I am not planning on using PSLF. So, I would like to aggressively pay off the undergrad parent plus loans and then focus on the med school loans. The two options I am considering are below: