Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: Looking for Loan Repayment Advice

Good morning,

I graduated from med school this past May and will be starting my internship July 1.  I am outright confused about how to proceed with the next steps for loan repayment.  I read these articles, talk with classmates, see other's posts but still feel overwhelmed--I'm looking for constructive advice about what to do next.  I am in grace. I am single, but will be married in in 1.5yrs to a classmate/intern (our salaries are $51,000 each, she has her own loans).  I will complete intern year then be an ophtho resident who will likely do a 1-2yr fellowship (5-6yrs total training).

All are Direct Unsubsidized loans

1. 7/2013: $32,722 @ 5.41%

2. 7/2014: $40,5000 @ 6.21%

3. 7/2015: $47,167 @ 5.84%

4. 5/2016: $ 34,418 @ 5.84%

5. === $154,807.00=== ($174,871 balance as of now)

I think I should enter RePAYE because that will allow me to pay off my loans quickest/cheapest. But then I read these posts about refinancing with SoFi or Laurel Branch, and then the FAFSA repayment calculator implies PAYE might be better and I'm at a lost. Does anyone have constructive advice?

Additionally, in residency, I plan to fully contribute to my programs 401(a) retirement plan and contribute to a Roth I had one set up from previous field/employment.

THANKS!

First of all, congratulations on graduating from medical school!  The fact that you are looking at this stuff now puts you ahead of the game, so don't worry if it feels overwhelming.