Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it possible to qualify for PSLF while still working in private sector?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible to qualify for PSLF while still working in private sector?

Was curious if anyone knows or has seen strategies for docs who work at a for-profit group (PP, Kaiser, etc) to still find a way to qualify for PSLF? I am in my last year of residency and am enrolled in REPAYE on the PSLF path, and don't want to miss out on the 5 years of qualifying payments I will have put in by the end this year.

One of the jobs I am looking at (and like very much) is with Kaiser, which would not appear to qualify for PSLF as the Kaiser medical group is for profit. I was curious if anyone has gone down a similar path and either worked a separate side job (medical or otherwise) at a non profit (I believe requirement is 30 hrs/wk) in order to qualify for PSLF, or found a different way. For example, wouldn't it be possible to found, organize and work 30 hrs/week at your own PSLF approved non-profit in addition to a non-PSLF day job and still qualify? Or maybe there is an alternate path? Am wondering if this is possible or just a pipe dream.

Correct, you can still qualify if you work for a for profit assuming you meet the minimum requirements of working for a non profit.

Comment

Originally posted by Ear Wax Technician View Post
      Was curious if anyone knows or has seen strategies for docs who work at a for-profit group (PP, Kaiser, etc) to still find a way to qualify for PSLF? I am in my last year of residency and am enrolled in REPAYE on the PSLF path, and don't want to miss out on the 5 years of qualifying payments I will have put in by the end this year.