Help with a plan of attack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with a plan of attack

My husband is nearing the end of his surgery training. I am just getting into WCI and need help making the best possible plan for loan repayment...

He will be making at least 400k+ (plus production). We currently have 654,000 in student loans at 5.6% refinanced through Mohela/Laurel Road. We have two kids, we rent, any credit card debt will be reimbursed (moving/board cert).

I guess I plan on having us refinance student loans at a variable rate and knocking it out ASAP.

Should we also open a backdoor ROTH or just focus on the loan debt and contributing to an employer matched account? Should we start contributing to 529 or again, just focus on the debt repayment? I am uncomfortable with the debt but also feel like we can't live our lives if we dump everything into it. How long will it take if we are aggressive? Is it best to get rid of it or live with it? Thoughts?

You should max out all tax-advantaged accounts then start plowing into the debt.

Just for some wording clarification, you don't open a 'backdoor ROTH' account. You need a traditional IRA account and ROTH IRA account, there is no such thing as a 'backdoor ROTH' account.

Comment

You should be able to get a much better rate than 5.6%. Doesn't cost money to refinance student loans, just a temp hit on credit score. Sometimes you even 'make money' with odd bonuses or amazon gift cards.

Goal is usually 20% retirement in backdoor roth IRA, 401k, taxable if needed to allow compound interest to work in your favor. After you 'pay yourself' in retirement funds, pay off minimum of student loans, fund the rest of your budget, then you can figure out what you want to do with the rest of the money.

If you're debt adverse, feel free to pay down extra on your loans at that point.

Comment

Originally posted by Nysoz View Post