Strategies to pay for medical school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strategies to pay for medical school

I am getting ready to start my last year of post-baccalaureate classes with the goal of applying to medical schools in the summer of 2018. Assuming that I am admitted to a medical school, I am looking for some advice for how I can best prepare for paying for medical schools. I currently work as a teacher and have the ability to max 403b, 457, pension, and a Roth IRA. if I stay at my current savings rate for the next two years, I should have roughly 180k in tax advantaged accounts and another 50k in my taxable accounts/savings. My current asset allocation is 55/45 equities to bonds. The rationale for investing in the 403/457 is that, if I use those funds for tuition, I would withdraw them when my income is lower at a lower tax bracket (roughly 10% savings). My question is, does it seem reasonable to pay for medical school with retirement savings or should I consider other strategies?

What is your age?  If you cash out of your tax protected accounts prior to 59.5 your will incur  a 10% penalty plus income tax.  So in your case student loans make more sense.  Hopefully you have low living expenses and no other debt.  Go to the cheapest school you get accepted to is good advice too.

Comment

Hey hatton1,

Thanks for the reply. With a 457 account I withdraw funds penalty free after separating from service. With the 403, I believe once it is transferred to an IRA it can be used for qualified educational expenses without penalty. I'll take another look though. Currently my age is 26.

Comment

You are young enough for med school to make sense.  I have only ever dealt with a 401k and Ira.  If the money can continue to grow tax free it still makes sense to take out loans.

Comment

Hey hatton1,