Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student Loan Refinance Options

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this site and the finance world in general, thus looking for advice on my loan situation. I'm currently a PGY1 with ~230k in loans with interest ranging from 6.2-6.8% and was looking to refinance as I will not be pursuing PSLF and ideally would like to have my loans paid off within 2-3years after residency. I applied through all of the companies listed on this site and with my max monthly payment ~$1900 my best options are:

20yr 5.44% Fixed $1600/month

20yr 3.9% Variable $1400/month

15yr 3.7% Variable $1700/month

Now my question is basically which one? Long story short I am inclined to go with the variable given everything I've read about variable vs. fixed, but I'm hesitant given the current trend of interest rates (variable here based on 1 month LIBOR). Obviously I'm aware of the "risk" of choosing the variable, but my question is - is that risk substantially higher now given the current state/uncertainty of things?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Is option four - Enter REPAYE for the remainder of training to get some assistance w the interest, followed by refinancing directly after you finish w an attendings salary to get a better rate an option?

Also, how long a residency are you in? If it's a 5 year residency and thus a 7-8 year payoff horizon, that's an awfully long time for a variable rate to change. I wouldn't be able to stomach that given the payment's potential to ballon beyond the $1900/month limit.

Comment

Yeah I think it depends on the length of the residency/fellowship. When I did the analysis, going variable with a rate of 2.67% (now up to 3.01%) compared to 6.8% fixed was a no brainer. To make it worse for you, variable rates would have to rise above the 6.2-6.8% average you have (since some would be paid off at the lower interest rate, your weighted average could still be less even if rates go above 6.8%).