Student Loan Repayment Questions for New Grad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student Loan Repayment Questions for New Grad

First time poster here! I am a PGY4 ophthalmology resident who will graduate next June 2017 and have joined a private practice in a middle-sized town in the south east. My base salary is 300k with a typical bonus incentive. I have around 225k in student loans. My question is, would it be possible for my practice to repay the loans, and for me to take a first year salary of 75K instead (300-225 = 75), and they could then deduct the 225K as a business expense or something of that sort. I figured it could be a win-win for both sides. If not, I completely understand that the loans are my responsibility and I'll plan to knock them out in about 2 years. I know that I can only deduct $2500 student loan interest per year from student loans, but was unsure if the practice could do something different.

Thanks for the input! Love reading all the posts and my financial knowledge has grown so much over past 6 months. Looking forward to having a bigger shovel in near future!

If they repay the loan for you it is considered income for you and you will be taxed on it.

Comment

"My question is, would it be possible for my practice to repay the loans, and for me to take a first year salary of 75K instead (300-225 = 75), and they could then deduct the 225K as a business expense or something of that sort. I figured it could be a win-win for both sides. If not, I completely understand that the loans are my responsibility and I’ll plan to knock them out in about 2 years."