Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Refinancing - apply to multiple companies?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinancing - apply to multiple companies?

I'm a 3rd year resident in a 4 year program.  High 200k debt.  I applied to DRB about one ago but was denied citing poor income:debt ratio.  I'm married wife makes 60k and has about 30k in student loans.

I'm interested in refinancing my loans, however I'm worried that I'm just going denied again because of my continued poor income:debt ratio.  My credit score is in the high 700s.  Compared to when I applied last year, there are many more companies offering student loan refinancing (Lend Key, Common Bond, SoFi, LinkCapital, DRB, Credible).

- Is it worth reapplying, or am I just going to get denied again because my income:debt ratio hasn't improved?

- How do I get the best interest rate?  I'm assuming applying to a couple different companies would be advised but how many - three?  five?

- Do you have any recommendations which companies I should try first?  Should I try DRB again?

- Does adding my wife (who has a good credit score) as a cosigner improve my interest rate?

Thanks everyone

Many residents are finding success by following the WCI suggestions, see Dec 2015 post: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forums/topic/the-wci-student-loan-refinancing-deals/

Credible.com is an easy way to start comparing rates. You may receive offers from a variety of lenders. Plus, it's a soft credit pull and won't impact your credit score.

Lenders have different underwriting guidelines. Some lenders (Commonbond, for example) requires a physician have an employment contract that starts within 6 months.