Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aggressively Pay Back Loans or Aggressively Invest in Residency

Hello!

I have been doing some thinking about where I should put my money during residency and wanted to see what your guys' opinions were. A little background: I am an anesthesia intern with 160k of federal loans (with a weighted interest of 5.9%) and make 53k per year. I matched in the city where my parents live, so I have been/plan on living at home for much of residency. While this may not seem like the most glamorous option, I feel like I have the opportunity to really maximize my money during residency and set myself up for success; I live in a city where rents have ballooned in the past 5 years, and I have seen many interns paying anywhere from 1,000 to 1,500 a month for rent. Thus, I have the potential to invest/pay back my loans by not having rent to pay. I have been considering two options for how to approach my loans and investments during residency:

Option 1:

1. Refinance my federal loans privately now: I'm not sure if you all are familiar, but First Republic Bank has a student refinance loan that has a few different options. The one that I was looking at is a 10-yr, 2.95% APR loan that would put my monthly payment at $1,541/month. No prepayment, origination, or annual fees.

2. Max out a Roth IRA $5,500 ($458/month)

Benefits of option 1:

Graduate from residency with less than 100k of student loans, still have some money tucked away in a Roth IRA. Low risk.

Option 2:

1. Go with REPAYE and defer trying to pay down my federal loans until after residency ends.

2. Max out both a Roth IRA ($5,500) and get close to maxing out a 401k (~$18,000/yr or about $1,500/month)

3. After graduating, refinance privately with First Republic (or whoever else) at that time (they currently have a 5 year, 1.95% APR that I could foot as an attending, but who knows if that will still be around in 4 years).