Using inheritance during grace period

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using inheritance during grace period

I'm a first year IM resident with about 230k in loans between 6 and 7.9% interest. I plan on entering REPAYE after grace period, and on paying my loans quickly after graduation (no PSLF). Recently a family member passed away and left some money that they wanted to go toward our student loans. I have about 20k to use, and I feel like I should apply it to my loans even if it isnt the optimal move, financially speaking. Honoring wishes, and all that.

My loans are unconsolidated and one in particular is about 17k at 7.9% interest. My plan is to just pay it off completely prior to entering repayment in November. Is this a good plan? Will it affect the subsidy that my interest will get under REPAYE? And, practically speaking is it pretty straightforward to direct a payment to one particular loan?

Its easy to pay off a specific loan and sounds like a great plan especially if it was their wish anyway.

Why are you entering REPAYE and not refinancing if you're not going to do PSLF?

Comment

Its easy to pay off a specific loan and sounds like a great plan especially if it was their wish anyway.

Why are you entering REPAYE and not refinancing if you’re not going to do PSLF?

If he's making $50-60k/yr and has $230k in loans, I don't think he could afford the monthly payment on a decent refi, meaning an income-driven plan is probably the best move.  Mathematically with regard to total paid over the life of the loan, sure, he'd be better by killing off debt with absurd interest rates as quickly as possible, but when you net maybe $4k each month and lose a third of that to interest alone (assuming avg 7%, int alone is $1341, and 10-yr std would be $2670), that's a pretty tough go. I think he's stuck letting interest accrue for 3 years (with 50% unpaid subsidized, and no capitalization until leaving RePAYE) until he can get a good refi then.