Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Target Retirement Fund 2060

Hi,

I recently bought into a Target Retirement Fund 2060, and I'm glad to have made this first step into retirement. Well, besides the opening of the Roth IRA at Vanguard. Do you guys have any advice for me since I'm an aspiring doctor? I'm just assuming that the Target Retirement Fund will provide the average population who will earn an average income a method of saving for retirement, but as aspiring or current doctors, are there any additional steps we should take right now or later such as converting the Target Retirement Funds into ETFs or anything of that matter? So, what are the advantages of having a Target Retirement Fund as a premed, and what will I need to do once I'm in medical school, become a resident, or an attending? I know I'm looking way too far into the future, but I just wanted to get a general idea and picture of what to expect.

Thank you!

Just wanted to recommend that you start reading. Bogle, Ferri, Swedroe, Dahle!, etc. You'll be way ahead in a few months/years. You won't have enough money anytime soon to have any big wins/losses, so the focus should be on getting as good as a medical and financial education as possible.

Comment

Sit down (or at least talk online) with a planner to describe exactly what you want from your money (more of it, right? lol) to help you come up with strategies both for a portfolio and when/how much to put into it (a lot, early and often).  Several read and post on this forum and would probably be very good resources for you; they're professionals who deal with people in your exact situation pretty often.

Not simply to repost and not put forth any ideas of my own, but: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/150-portfolios-better-than-yours/ has very good examples.