Playing Catch Up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Playing Catch Up

Hello Everyone. I've been lurking for a bit and decided to finally post. I am new to the whole "retirement game" and I feel behind compared to many of you. Please forgive my ignorance, I've been trying to learn this as best as I can.

I recently finished fellowship earlier this year and I am finally an attending. I have a 403b from residency and was told by a friend I should roll this into an IRA. Looking at the requirements for a roth IRA, it seems my AGI is too high and so a traditional IRA is more of what I would need. I had a few questions I hoped someone could shed some light on.

Are there tax implications involved in transferring my 403b money to a newly opened traditional IRA?

I haven't even made an account yet, but was thinking about going with Vanguard or Fidelity as those seem to be the most popular choices. Is there a particular fund that I should select? I'm still young so I figured a more aggressive portfolio would be better, possibly 80% stocks 20% bonds.

My wife is a stay at home mother, but we file jointly. From what I've read I am able to open an IRA for her as well. Is this true and would it also need to be a traditional IRA?

I'm sure I will come up with more questions. I appreciate everyone's help and look forward to reaching the heights many of you have achieved.

Does your current job have a 401k or other qualified retirement plan? It would generally be preferable to rollover your pretax 403b funds to another qualified plan. Or leave them in the 403b if allowed by the plan. Rather than rollover to a traditional IRA. Reason being, you will want to do backdoor Roth IRAs each year.

Yes you can and should make IRA contributions for a spouse. This will probably need to be a backdoor Roth IRA based on your income.

If you have Roth funds in the 403b, you would rollover those to a Roth IRA.