How DB plan effects Profit Sharing contribution

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How DB plan effects Profit Sharing contribution

Would a defined benefits plan limit my Profit Sharing contribution in my circumstance. I am 37 years old. Many calculators estimate a DB contribution of $41,000 per year. I make 500k to 600k. At first I thought I could contribute 18k employee plus profit sharing of 6%. Then I saw that the total deductible limit for the two could equal up to 31% of compensation. If the latter is true, then 94k (41k plus 53k) would be less than 31percent and allowed. Am I right?

Not enough information and a very complicated topic. Are you self-employed? Working for a group that has a combo plan in place? Considering bumping up your PS plan with a cash balance plan for your business? What you propose is possible in the right situation, but this is a question for a TPA and I am not an expert in this area. This article may be helpful to you.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Would a defined benefits plan limit my Profit Sharing contribution in my circumstance. I am 37 years old. Many calculators estimate a DB contribution of $41,000 per year. I make 500k to 600k. At first I thought I could contribute 18k employee plus profit sharing of 6%. Then I saw that the total deductible limit for the two could equal up to 31% of compensation. If the latter is true, then 94k (41k plus 53k) would be less than 31percent and allowed. Am I right?