Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it wise to set up a Pension (in addition to 401K) if you are self employed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it wise to set up a Pension (in addition to 401K) if you are self employed?

I am relatively new to investing and just became an owner of an orthodontic practice. I aspire to be a super-saver and am relatively frugal. If I am already maxing out my HSA, Back Door Roth IRA, 401K... I have been told that I can also set up a company pension for myself and my staff. I was told that I will have to test out the rules and will likely have to pay 15K to my staff if I would like to put away 70K pretax for my spouse and myself, but isnt that better than paying the tax on that 70k. I know I haven't read every single article on this site but I am surprised I haven't seen more about this from Dr Dahle with all the talk about maximizing tax-protected space. If anyone has any advice or experience with setting up a pension for a self employed doc, I'm all ears.

Google Defined Benefit Plan. It's not as simple a decision as the calculation you are presenting - for example, you will be paying the tax on that $70k, just not now. It is also an expensive endeavor, but can have a big payoff in the right situation. There are many factors involved plus it doesn't make sense until you are at least age 37 or 38 so it is not a topic that is of as much interest to a diverse audience, and that's probably why you're not seeing much on WCI.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment