Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backdoor IRA Questions

Hi,

Newbie here, read all the blogs/forum and still a little confused, any help would be appreicated.

Current Accounts

Vanguard Rollover IRA - $50,000

Vanguard Roth IRA - $235000

Employer 401k - $65000

* My employer does allow rollover to 401k.

Questions

1. Is it still possible to convert $5500 from Rollover to Roth for 2017 tax year? Then the remaining rollover IRA to 401k, or does that have to be completed before calendar year 2017.

2. Do I have to pay any taxes (on the front end, this year) for transferring funds from Rollover IRA to 401k?

I assume I would be taxed when I withdraw from the 401k, so I shouldn’t be taxed 2x.

3. If I file jointly, but my wife has a Rollover/Traditional IRA, does that prevent me from doing a Rollover IRA?

Thanks.

I think you may be mixing a couple of concepts together so I'll try to help clarify.

1. You have until 4/17/18 to contribute $5,500 to a nondeductible IRA and you can convert that n.d. IRA to a Roth any time you want. However, you will owe taxes on the conversion (because of the pro-rata rule) if you have $$ in the rollover IRA on 12/31 of the year that you convert.

2. Your assumption is correct. You do not have to pay taxes when you move your rollover IRA to your 401k. As long as you roll over the full balance in the Vanguard rollover IRA before 12/31/18, you can convert your n.d. IRA to a Roth IRA with no tax consequences (except for any growth in the account, which will be taxed).

3. You and your wife are treated separately (see post #98379). The above rules apply to her and her accounts also, but your ability to do a tax-free backdoor Roth is not affected.

Explaining Backdoor Roth IRAs may be helpful to you.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Thank you.