Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Am I taxed on employer contributions to 401k?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I taxed on employer contributions to 401k?

I am a 3rd year resident evaluating contracts, and I wanted to put emphasis on retirement accounts early in my career.  I know that the max 401k contribution is 54K and that I can contribute up to 18K of that.  If I were to get my potential employers to contribute 36K of my employed compensation directly to my 401k (or 403b if I end up gov't or non-profit), would I be liable for any taxes on it up front (eg. FICA or similar)?  Thanks in advance for any help provided!

Your max 401k contribution in 2018 is $18,500 employee and $36,500 employer for a total of $55k. Catch-up contributions for age 50+ remain at $6k.

You're not taxed on employer contributions at the time the funds go into your account, but you are taxed when the funds and related earnings are distributed to you.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

I am a 3rd year resident evaluating contracts, and I wanted to put emphasis on retirement accounts early in my career.  I know that the max 401k contribution is 54K and that I can contribute up to 18K of that.  If I were to get my potential employers to contribute 36K of my employed compensation directly to my 401k (or 403b if I end up gov’t or non-profit), would I be liable for any taxes on it up front (eg. FICA or similar)?  Thanks in advance for any help provided!