individual 401k question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• individual 401k question

I'm relatively new to financial planning/investing and really wish I would have known about this site when I was an attending before going back to fellowship...I'm just soaking it all in right now.

Anyways, I am going over my taxes now and realized that my (very small) side job of reviewing insurance claims in paid on a 1099.

Should I set up an individual 401k for this? I anticipate only getting 10-20k/year from this. It's my understanding that I can now deduct anything that would have to do with work for this, right? And then to figure out how much I can put in would depend on how much my employer puts in my 401k through them?

For those who have an individual 401k, do you have it through vanguard?

Thank you! This is an amazing resource!

Seems like just the right amount to write off. You can go through whoever you like, lots of people here love vanguard.

You're the employer in the second scenario as well as the employee. You just need to brush up on the rules, I think WCI has a post about this, and make sure you categorize your contributions correctly to maximize your benefit.

Comment

It's too late to set up a 401k for 2015, but you can get around that. Here's what you need to do:

• Set up a SEP IRA for 2015 (you have until 10/15/16) and contribute the max. The rules say 25%, but it's technically less because you have to reduce it by your 1/2 of the Medicare tax + your contribution. Your tax prep software should be able to calculate the max contribution for you.

• Set up a SOLO 401k for 2016. You will not use the SEP going forward as you are changing to the solo-k.

• Roll your SEP into a SOLO 401k.