Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is contributing to a Roth IRA through the backdoor as simple as it seems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is contributing to a Roth IRA through the backdoor as simple as it seems?

This is my first year as an attending making enough money my husband and I can not long put money into a Roth IRA directly. We currently do not have any traditional IRAs. We do have Roth IRAs. I have a 401K at my current place of employment. My husband has a 403b at his current job and a 403b with his previous job. From what I understand, all I have to do is 1) open a traditional IRA for each of us 2) contribute $5500 to each account, 3) convert/transfer the $5500 to our Roth IRAs one day later. 4) Fill out tax forms next April. Is it really that simple?

Yes

Comment

yes.

5 years for me

3 for my wife

easiest financial chore of the year.

either do your own turbotax or make damned sure your tax preparer understands this.

Comment

yup. theres a step by step guide on WCI and financebuff.

Comment

Polaris - Have you considered the Step Transaction Doctrine in that strategy?
          If I had to choose between investment analysis and my mountain bike, I'd choose the mountain bike 100% of the time.

Comment

Polaris – Have you considered the Step Transaction Doctrine in that strategy?

are you serious?

Comment

No idea what the Step Transaction Doctrine is

Comment

Step Transaction Doctrine is an IRS doctrine defined by the IRS as where you use more than one step on order to evade taxes. In other words, you use a two step process; a non-deductible traditional IRA contribution followed by a Roth conversion to avoid the Roth IRA contribution income limits.

The largest purveyor of this Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt (FUD) mantra is Michael Kites who has based his entire premise based on third hand information about a couple of IRS agents declaring that a Backdoor Roth was a step transaction and thus not allowed.