Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting Private Practice - How to handle retirement accounts

Posting for a friend-

I am a physician working as 1099 and have a SEP IRA as a 1099 now. I was thinking of opening a solo-401k this year to move the SEP-IRA into so I can start a backdoor Roth IRA.

Next year I plan to start my own practice (solo practice) and will have employees (support staff). Can I still use the solo-K or will I need to create a different kind of 401k since I have employees? Will I have to contribute to their 401ks as their employer? If not, does this mean I will need to go back to having a SEP IRA? Who should I talk to about this if I need help creating a 401k for my practice? Thank you!

This is a potential problem. No, your friend (will assume female) cannot continue to use the solo-k when she has employees. She will have to cover them. If she doesn't open a 401k for the practice, she will be treated as having closed the 1099 business and w/h to shut down the solo-k and roll it into an IRA, back to where she started.

The above assumes that she does not open a 401k for the practice. If she does, then she can just roll the solo-k into her practice 401k account and she will be able to contribute/convert to tax-free backdoor Roth IRAs.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

So if she opens a 401k for the practice - does she have to contribute to all the employees accounts?

Comment

No, but should will probably want to offer some level of matching. And because she'll be a highly-compensated employee, anti-discrimination rules will be at play so the contribution formula will not exactly be straightforward. She may want to use a safe harbor plan.
        Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment