Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I start a solo-401k in addition to my partnership's K1/401k?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I start a solo-401k in addition to my partnership's K1/401k?

I'm new to the WCI forum. You guys are amazing. I just started a new job and open an S-corp for the first time. I would love you guys' input to my situation

The situation:

1. My salary is distributed as K1, and is estimated to 425k this yr. The K1 pays my S-corp ( a professional corporation with no other employee besides myself).

2. The company also offered 401k, which is deducted from my K1 salary to my S-corp monthly. Because of the flexibility of K1, the company allows me to max out the traditional 401k (54000$ this year) as employer distribution.

The questions.

1. I  hope to maximize saving of Medicare tax, but don't' want to risk an audit. What would a reasonable salary to give myself as W2 this year (so I can take the rest as distribution and save on Medicare tax)?

2. Can I start a solo-401k with my S-corp, and contribute to it as employer contribution, with my W2 income?

Really looking forward to your advice.

Sincerely,

Josh

Josh,  you should pay yourself a W2 income equivalent to what it would cost on the open market (what would you pay to have someone do the job instead of you).

As to having two plans-only if you have two separate work tasks in some way.  For instance, if you provided direct patient care for part of your income and did some administrative work for another part.  But having all the source income from one payor makes that very hard to prove.  In any event, if you did have another source of income from another "job," you could have a second plan, but note that the salary deferral allowance of 18K (or 24K depending on age) is aggregated over all plans.

Comment